"We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give."

Make Me Smile International (MMSI) is a non-profit organisation based in Austria, Germany and Switzerland. Since 2012 Make Me Smile International holds the certificate for tax deductibility in Austria. In 2020 the non-profit status/tax exemption was also granted for Germany and Switzerland. In cooperation with local partner organisations MMSI is active in Kenya, Colombia and Lebanon.

Our work

Our expertise and focus areas include child and youth welfare, health, gender equality, economic strengthening, environmental protection, projects with refugees and the promotion of development education. In close cooperation with selected partner organisations, we develop and implement various humanitarian and sustainable development cooperation projects. We secure the financing of these projects through fundraising at private, institutional and state level. Our team coordinates and accompanies the implementation of the projects and maintains direct contact with the funding agencies. Our team has experience in the implementation of EU projects in Europe and projects in the Global South, financed by public funds. Our team consists of volunteers, board members and staff for our projects, who support us all with their skills, knowledge and above all with their time. Through various awareness-raising initiatives in Austria and Europe, we promote development education and intercultural dialogue.

Our partner organisations

Kenya – Make Me Smile Kenya

Make Me Smile Kenya is an NGO for development cooperation, child care and assistance for self-help! Mission Statement: “We help people to help themselves, for the benefit of the children, because we believe in everybody’s potential” Make Me Smile Kenya has been active in western Kenya, in the region around Kisumu, since 2008.

Find out more!

Colombia – Fundación Estación Biológica Bachaqueros

Fundación Estación Biológica Bachaqueros is a foundation focusing on the reforestation of once tropical rainforests in the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta. On a social level, indigenous groups are strengthened and single mothers are trained and empowered to improve their initial situation in a sustainable way and to create opportunities for themselves.

Find out more!

Libanon – Himaya

Himaya is an NGO that has been working in Lebanon since 2009 to help children who have been subjected to some form of abuse. This ranges from neglect to sexual, psychological or physical violence. Himaya is active throughout Lebanon.

Find out more!

Help without money

Donations in kind

We are always happy to receive donations in kind, which are well preserved and useful. For further information please contact us at:

office@makemesmile-int.org
or under +43 (0) 676 898 776 309

Voluntary social work

People who would like to help us voluntarily are always welcome! Please send a letter of motivation and your curriculum vitae to

office@makemesmile-int.org
or under +43 (0) 676 898 776 309

Voluntary service abroad

Since the beginning of 2012 Make Me Smile International and Kenya has been offering a volunteer programme in Kenya for teenagers and young adults.

More informationen

Become a member

Yes, I would like to become a supporting member of the association Make Me Smile International. The membership fee is € 5,00 per month (€ 60,00 per year). You will receive your membership confirmation and all necessary documents by e-mail.

Apply for membership

"We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give."

Make Me Smile International (MMSI) ist eine in Österreich, Deutschland und der Schweiz ansässige, gemeinnützige Organisation. Seit 2012 hält Make Me Smile International den Spendenbegünstigungsbescheid in Österreich. 2020 wurde die Gemeinnützigkeit/Steuerbefreiung auch für Deutschland und die Schweiz zugesprochen. In Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partnerorganisationen ist MMSI in Kenia, Kolumbien und im Libanon tätig.

Unsere Arbeit

Unsere Expertise und Schwerpunkte umfassen die Bereiche Kinder- und Jugendhilfe, Gesundheit, Geschlechtergleichstellung, wirtschaftliche Stärkung, Umweltschutz, Projekte mit Geflüchteten und Förderung der Entwicklungspolitischen Bildung. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit ausgewählten Partnerorganisationen entwickelt und realisieren wir verschiedene Projekte der humanitären und nachhaltigen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Durch Fundraising auf privater, institutioneller und staatlicher Ebene sichern wir die Finanzierung dieser Projekte. Unser Team koordiniert und begleitet die Umsetzung der Projekte und hält direkten Kontakt zu den FördergeberInnen. Unser Team verfügt über Erfahrung in der Umsetzung von EU-Projekten im europäischen Raum und von Projekten im Globalen Süden, finanziert durch öffentliche Fördermittel. Unser Team besteht aus Freiwilligen, Vorstandsmitgliedern und MitarbeiterInnen für unsere Projekte, die uns alle mit Fähigkeiten, Wissen und vor allem mit ihrer Zeit unterstützen. Durch verschiedene Sensibilisierungsinitiativen in Österreich und Europa fördern wir die Entwicklungspolitische Bildung und den interkulturellen Dialog.

Unsere Partnerorganisationen

Kenia – Make Me Smile Kenya

Make Me Smile Kenya ist eine NGO für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Kinderfürsorge und Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe! Mission Statement: “We help people to help themselves, for the benefit of the children, because we believe in everybody’s potential” Make Me Smile Kenya ist seit 2008 im Westen Kenias, in der Region um Kisumu aktiv.

Erfahren Sie mehr!

Kolumbien – Fundación Estación Biológica Bachaqueros

Fundación Estación Biológica Bachaqueros ist eine Stiftung mit Fokus auf Wiederaufforstung einst tropischer Regenwälder in der Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta. Auf sozialer Ebene werden indigene Gruppen gestärkt und alleinerziehende Mütter geschult und empowered um ihre Ausgangssituation anhaltend zu verbessern und sich Chancen selbst zu erarbeiten.

Erfahren Sie mehr!

Libanon – Himaya

Himaya ist eine NGO, die sich seit 2009 im Libanon für Kinder einsetzt die einer Form von Missbrauch ausgesetzt waren. Dies reicht von Vernachlässigung bis zur sexuellen, psychischen oder physischen Gewalt. Himaya is in ganz Libanon aktiv.

Erfahren Sie mehr!

Helfen ohne Geld

Sachspenden

Wir freuen uns immer über Sachspenden, die gut erhalten und brauchbar sind. Für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter:

office@makemesmile-int.org
oder unter +43 (0) 676 898 776 309

Freiwillige soziale Arbeit

Menschen, die uns ehrenamtlich helfen möchten, sind immer herzlich willkommen! Senden Sie bitte ein Motivationsschreiben sowie Ihren Lebenslauf an:

office@makemesmile-int.org
oder unter +43 (0) 676 898 776 309

Volontariat im Ausland

Seit Anfang 2012 bietet Make Me Smile International und Kenya für Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene ein Volontariatsprogramm in Kenia an.

Mehr Informationen

Mitglied werden

Ja, ich möchte unterstützendes Mitglied des Vereins Make Me Smile International werden. Der Mitgliedsbeitrag beträgt € 5,00 monatlich (€ 60,00 jährlich). Sie erhalten Ihre Mitgliedsbestätigung und alle notwendigen Dokumente per E-Mail.

Mitgliedschaft beantragen